News:

SAAC Member Badges are NOW available. Make your request through saac.memberlodge.com to validate membership.

Main Menu

One lead to starter solenoid?

Started by charlie D, February 16, 2019, 01:34:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

charlie D

Continuing to work through some sloppy wiring that was done when a shop installed the MSD ignition system. Seems as though he took everything apart to get the tach to work before figuring out a tach adapter would do the trick. Anyway, following leads in the engine bay is when I had an alternator wire just fall off in my hand, no insulation left. I have ordered a replacement alternator harness. But this car got so jury rigged that I am really getting flummoxed. Attaching a picture of the starter solenoid. Only one lead on the front terminals. Mind you, it did crank and start. Anybody seen anything like this? Not sure if I should be messing with it or just let it be.

Corey Bowcutt

Charlie, I am relatively new to this so do not have a lot of experience but I had some strange wiring on my solenoid as well that I corrected.  It did not have the same missing wire you have but I thought I would share some pictures in hopes it helps.  I have a GT350 and I believe yours is a GT500 so might be different?  But it looks like a brown wire to the terminal you are missing.

BTW the picture of my solenoid is before I removed the "extra" red cable to the terminal block which bypassed the ammeter.

Bob Gaines

Quote from: charlie D on February 16, 2019, 01:34:46 PM