Author Topic: Message from original owner of '66 GT350H SFM6S1954  (Read 3258 times)

Rey

• View Profile
Message from original owner of '66 GT350H SFM6S1954
« on: April 08, 2019, 01:53:58 PM »
I was the original owner after Hertz.  Short version of acquisition story:  Summer of '67 learned from a client (I am an attorney) that Ford had "bought back" all the GT350Hs from Hertz; and that they were then to be "sold" to dealers.  Ford had 40+ GT350s parked in the field of the St. Paul Assembly Plant.  My client was a senior mechanic at Ron Saxon Ford, and he could buy any of these cars through Ron Saxon by paying an extra $100 over Saxon's invoice. Client and I inspected the cars.  They were all black/gold and auto.  Mileage was about 10K.  I paid $2450. It was my daily driver until '74. 
Sold the car about 1974 to a young Navy veteran just off active duty.  He drove the car to Ohio.
Wondering what happened to #1954?  I have lots of stories of the car that I'd like to document/share with present owner.

6s1640

• View Profile
Re: Message from original owner of '66 GT350H SFM6S1954
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2019, 02:25:19 PM »
Hi Rey,

My understanding is that Ford bought around 500 of the rental cars back, part of the original contract.  Then Ford dealers were then to sell.  I heard the  Ford dealers had contest of who could sell the most.  The other 500 or so then I would assume Hertz had to sell.  Your story sounds very familiar with a lot full of GT350H's for sale.  If you were there early, you got to cherry pick the nicest car.  I have also heard that many of the cars were also in not the nice of shape.  They were beat on, thus why in the early days the Hertz cars were not in big demand.   Some even saw paint color changes to hide the fact they were an ex-rental car.  What did you sell you car for?  I am also hearing from long time current owners they only paid around $1000 for their GT350 or GT350H.

Lets hear those stories.

Thanks for sharing

Cory