Author Topic: Steering Wheels  (Read 3292 times)

gimmea250swb

• View Profile
Steering Wheels
« on: July 19, 2019, 10:28:47 PM »
Forgive me for some newb questions.  The wheel in my 66 is cracked and I’ve had a couple comments that I need a good wheel.  I’m new to Shelbys so I’m here to learn.

What is the best original style (repo) wheel  for a 66?
How can you tell the difference between the best repo and an original?
Did Shelby or dealers offer nardi wheels?
If so, are these nardi wheels legit?
        https://wood-steering-wheels.com/shelby-2/

Thanks for your help!

67 GT350

• View Profile
Re: Steering Wheels
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2019, 10:50:11 PM »
I have an over the counter wheel that I do not need....
RARE  Signature Delete

J_Speegle

• SAAC Member
  • Just here to help :)
    • View Profile
    • ConcoursMustang.com
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2019, 10:51:55 PM »
Considering that you have asked this question in the concours section what you likely should be looking for is the same wheel as used on the 65-66 Mustang for cars with the interior decor option. The plastic rimmed wheel. The center and the emblem are different from the Mustang

Will let others that have recently looked closely at the current crop of wheels comment on them
Jeff Speegle- Mustang & Shelby detail collector, ConcoursMustang.com mentor :) and Judge

Brant

• SAAC Member
  • www.VirginiaClassicMustang.com
    • View Profile
    • Virginia Classic Mustang Inc
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2019, 09:45:46 AM »
As Jeff stated, the "correct" steering wheel is the plastic woodgrain wheel.

I've seen a lot of "restorations" of these wheels over the past 40 years, and I personally have never seen a restoration that really matches the original look. The "restorations" that I have seen also eventually crack again.