News:

SAAC Member Badges are NOW available. Make your request through saac.memberlodge.com to validate membership.

Main Menu

66 GT 350 Paxton questions

Started by Fair67, January 26, 2020, 05:35:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fair67

I have in my shop, a 66GT 350 with a first owner installed Paxton supercharger. I have no experience with a supercharger on a non-fuel infected engine. This setup has functioned correctly for years(I am told). When warm, the engine idles at 1,800 RPM. That is with he idle screw backed all the way out. There is no choke on the carburetor. It is a 650 Holley DP.

My first thought is a vacuum leak or idle mixture is too lean. It runs and pulls strong throughout all RPM ranges and in all four gears. Unless I am mistaken, it shouldn't matter if air is being pushed or pulled through the carburetor. But I doubt there is much if any boost at idle.

Anyone had any experience with these setups?
Am I totally flawed in my thinking?
Any suggestions?

Sixx7shelby

I have same set up on my 67 350. my 650 DP is one modified by Craig Conley and once had a problem where car acted up while idling and was the float level. Readjusted floats and ran fine after. I would check float levels first.

Dave
67 GT350 #1482
69 Eliminator 428SCJ
97 Cobra
86 SVO

Fair67

Thanks for the Intel!
Also, the owner has an original boost gauge-fuel pressure gauge set, that he wants me to install. Where is the correct position to mount it?

I may ask many trivial questions, but I want be as correct as I can....and this car deserves! Although I've always been a Ford guy and Shelby admirer, I'm new to wrenching on genuine Shelby.

JWH