SAAC Forum

The Cars => 1969-1970 Shelby GT350/500 => Topic started by: richflorence on August 01, 2022, 03:14:21 PM

Title: No brake lights
Post by: richflorence on August 01, 2022, 03:14:21 PM
Guys:

I got a puzzler. Brake lights quit working, so replaced the stoplight switch. This has happened before, so replacing the switch has always solved the problem. Old switch tested good on the bench, but I still replaced it with a new one. It was working fine on Friday, but when I tried it today, no brake lights again. Any suggestions of where else to look? Original/unrestored '69 GT-350.

Thanks.
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: Shelbypat on August 01, 2022, 04:20:02 PM
First. Check voltage when brake is apply both side of brake switch...Using a voltmeter is the best, and, FYI brake switch is feeded by a termal breaker under the console.

Patrick
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: Rukiddin on August 01, 2022, 04:36:09 PM
Try working the emergency flasher switch on/off a few times
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: Coralsnake on August 01, 2022, 05:05:31 PM
Turn signal wiring
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: richflorence on August 01, 2022, 05:14:25 PM
Thanks guys! Much appreciated.
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: Bill on August 01, 2022, 06:30:22 PM
Turn signal wiring

Or turn signal switch.

Went through two NOS units and one Drake reproduction to get enough parts to make one turn signal switch to actually work as it is supposed to.  ::)

Bill S.
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: Rickmustang on August 01, 2022, 06:35:17 PM
Try a NOS switch vs a reproduction
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: richflorence on August 01, 2022, 07:56:17 PM
Thinking now it may be the old original sequencer. Getting power back to the taillights but itís intermittent. I appreciate all the tips. Opened the sequencer box for the first time, and itís looking rather corroded inside.
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: richflorence on August 09, 2022, 05:51:26 AM
Ended up being the 53 year old taillight sequencer. Shorted out the 2 pins in the harness so we replaced the sequencer and created a work around for the harness pins and now working like it should.
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: Cobrask8 on August 09, 2022, 12:12:53 PM
Everybody beat me with correct answers.

Turn signal switch or trunk unit.

Do you have any of the wiring diagrams? Makes it easy to troubleshoot. I have some simplified wiring diagrams for the sequencer input and output wires if needed.

Dan
Title: Re: No brake lights
Post by: richflorence on August 09, 2022, 01:20:49 PM
Trunk unit. Replacing it solved the problem. We did a work around for the 2 burned pins in the under dash harness.