News:

We have implemented a Photo Gallery for hosting images right here on SAACFORUM. Check the How-To in News from HQ

Main Menu

Single action revolvers and worker's compensation in New Mexico

Started by deathsled, October 27, 2021, 10:57:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Side-Oilers

Placing a monetary value on human life will always be a strange and awkward task.   

So, if a hypothetical person in a similar situation had 30 earning years left, should a settlement be for that entire amount that he/she would've/could've earned?  (How would anyone be able to accurately estimate that...especially in the weird world of Hollywood?)

Should it be some arbitrary amount minus an also-arbitrary amount of taxes...so it'd more closely equal what his/her annual take-home would be? 

Should it be adjusted for inflation over those 30 years? (Another totally unpredictable number.)

That's just the tip of a slippery iceberg of ship-sinking size.

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer, I don't want to be a lawyer, and my legal knowledge is mostly limited to TV shows and movies I've watched.

I'm just a car guy who likes speed, engine sounds and burnouts.

Current:
2006 FGT, Tungsten. Whipple, HRE 20s, Ohlin coil-overs. Top Speed Certified 210.7 mph.

Kirkham Cobra 427.  482-inch aluminum side-oiler. Tremec 5-spd.

Previous:
1968 GT500KR #2575 (1982-2022)
1970 Ranchero GT 429
1969 LTD Country Squire 429
1963 T-Bird Sport Roadster
1957 T-Bird E-model

shelbydoug

Quote from: 67 GT350 on October 28, 2021, 03:35:33 PM
Every gun, no matter what, when handed to you, YOU treat it as loaded, and check and empty it. And NEVER point it at someone, unless your life is in danger.

Hollywood hates guns, I am calling for them to make movies that do NOT have any guns in the movie.
No more cop movies
No more action movies
No more bad guy movies
No more movies with a gun in them.

I happen to agree with you on this.