Author Topic: Late Style 289 Weber intake NOS  (Read 1837 times)

wcampbell

• View Profile
Late Style 289 Weber intake NOS
« on: February 27, 2019, 10:28:00 AM »
All,

Deciding to sell a 48 IDA weber intake I bought for one of my projects back in the early 2000s. It is the "late" style intake where the carbs run parallel rather than the earlier "opposed" type. COBRA open letter manifold only. When I purchased it back in the day I was told by the COBRA owner I bought it from that it was NOS - I'm not an expert so I'm not entirely sure how to tell. Do your research...Asking $1200

Wayne
wandccampbell@hotmail.com

gt350hr

• Randy Gillis in real life - 5353 original posts
    • View Profile
Re: Late Style 289 Weber intake NOS
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2019, 11:11:56 AM »
   Wayne,
        It is a Blue Thunder reproduction as that is the way the underside is machined on the manifolds they produce. The manifolds Ford and Shelby produced "in the day" were machined differently where the end seals are. BTW they are done at the same foundry ( Buddy Barr) that the originals were done at. There is evidence of rubber hoses having been on the water outlets and the manifold appears to be port matched a bit from your pictures. If you did this during your ownership it's possible it was new. If this is how you got it then it was used.
    Randy
Celebrating 46 years of drag racing 6S477 and no end in sight.

CSX2259

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2019, 11:31:13 AM »
Actually these manifolds were manufactured by Offenhauser Equipment Co., there should be a very small “OE Co” stamp on the bottom. The machining process is also consistent with the processes used in period. There are also casting characteristics that are consistent with known originals in my possession. I am not aware of Blue Thunder reproducing this particular type of manifold, they did reproduce the early “opposed” style manifold.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2019, 11:37:26 AM by CSX2259 »

wcampbell