News:

SAAC Member Badges are NOW available. Make your request through saac.memberlodge.com to validate membership.

Main Menu

Sheet metal date codes in relation to vehicle build dates

Started by JCHansen, December 11, 2019, 09:45:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JCHansen

Hello everyone,

Lurking newbie here! I have a question related specifically to sheet metal dates and how they relate to vehicle build dates in NJ. Looked at a '68 GT500 today. Marti says actual build was on 1/17/68. Car delivered to dealer in IL on 2/3. I found late December and a few early January date stampings all over the car. The latest date I could find was 1/3 on the rear passenger side inner fender behind the tower. I also found a 1/2 passenger side rocker. Most dates are from 12/22-12/31, except for a couple of wild cards under the hood, a June and an October, which I think is another problem. Late December all over the trunk area except for an early Jan trunk pan (couldn't clearly read the day, but the month was Jan.). Anyway- what was the strike's impact on parts supply at Metuchen? It is reasonable that sheet metal was being stamped, then shipped from the stamping plants arriving in NJ less than 3 weeks before final assembly two months after the strike ended? By the dates on the car, it was assembled, took a train ride to Ionia, finished up, shipped back out and was sitting in a dealers showroom all within a month. Glass is a bit later than I was expecting too- all December '67 glass except for a January '68 front 1/4 vent window and one November.   

I've looked at a couple other non-Shelby NJ built '68 Mustangs, one built late November with mostly August sheetmetal on the car- naturally, I imagine those parts were sitting around for a while as things were being worked out. Another, an S code fastback was built on March 8th, and had early January to early February sheet metal, and the glass dates were practically the same as the Shelby I looked at today.